Skip to main content

Sigurdsson retains Player of the Season award


23:10 17th May 2017

. . . midfielder becomes first to achieve feat at annual awards night

Gylfi Sigurdsson has been named Swansea City’s Player of the Season for a second consecutive year.
At the club’s annual function held tonight, the Icelandic midfielder received the accolade following a vote by supporters and became the first player to retain the award.
Sigurdsson’s goals and assists were crucial to the team’s successful bid to beat the drop, which culminated in a fascinating conclusion last weekend.
The 27-year-old has scored nine Premier League goals – plus one in the EFL Cup – and has 13 assists to his name during a hugely positive campaign on a personal level.
That was not the only award Sigurdsson would receive on the night, however, as he landed the Players’ Player and Away Player accolades.

Gylfi Sigurdsson

World Cup winner Fernando Llorente made it a debut Premier League campaign to remember as he also walked away with three gongs.
The Spanish international, who arrived from Sevilla last summer, was named Top Goalscorer.
Llorente has bagged 14 goals this season, with the striker hoping to add to this tally in the final game of the campaign against West Brom at the Liberty this Sunday.
Seven of those goals have come via his head, which is a league high in the top flight this term, while he scored crucial late goals in the 5-4 victory over Crystal Palace along with another last-gasp winner against Burnley.

Fernando Llorente

His impact in the final third also saw Llorente named Best Newcomer, with the 32-year-old beating fellow new signings Martin Olsson, Tom Carroll and Alfie Mawson to the award.
The goal of the season, as voted for on the night, offered some fantastic strikes to look back on.
And the winner among six nominees was Llorente, with his bullet header from a Tom Carroll cross capping off a fine goal in the 3-2 victory at Liverpool.
The remaining nominations in that category also included Kyle Naughton’s stunning strike against Sunderland last weekend; Mawson’s thunderous volley at home to Leicester; Olsson’s left-footed effort against Burnley and Sigurdsson’s free-kick at Manchester United along with Angel Rangel’s last-gasp winner at Crystal Palace.

Alfie Mawson

Mawson, however, wouldn’t miss out as the centre-back signed off a first year in the Premier League by winning the Young Player award.
Signed from Championship side Barnsley last August, Mawson proved a key figure during the second half of the campaign.
The 23-year-old made 26 top-flight appearances, with three of his four goals helping pick up victories over Crystal Palace, Southampton and Leicester City.

Leroy Fer

Leroy Fer, meanwhile, was named PFA Community Champion award for the fine work he has put in around the city over the past year.
The Lifetime Achievement award went to the late Richard Lillicrap, who was a hugely influential figure in the early days of the Supporters' Trust.

Lifetime Achievement award

Finally, Swansea City Under-23s completed a hugely successful year after being crowned Premier League Cup champions this week.
The young Swans completed the double having also lifted the Premier League 2 Division 2 title.
Their Player of the Year award went to striker Oli McBurnie, who scored 23 goals in all competitions this season – including a brace for the first-team in the EFL Cup.

Oli McBurnie

Full list of awards
Supporters' Player of the Year (sponsored by Wales Online)

Gylfi Sigurdsson

Players' Player of the Year (sponsored by Swansea Chiropratic Clinic)
Gylfi Sigurdsson

Best Newcomer (sponsored by AMMCOM Ltd)
Fernando Llorente

Away Player of the Year (sponsored by Swansea City Travel Club)
Gylfi Sigurdsson

Gylfi Sigurdsson

Young Player of the Year (sponsored by Evan Pritchard Contractors)
Alfie Mawson

Top Goalscorer (sponsored by Budget Carpets)
Fernando Llorente
Goal of the Season (sponsored by Low Cost Vans)
Fernando Llorente (versus Liverpool)

PFA Community Champion
Leroy Fer

Lifetime Achievement Award (sponsored by Swansea City Supporters Trust)
Richard Lillicrap

Under-23s Player of the Year
Oli McBurnie

    Related Articles